Important Wars and Battles in Indian History

Year	War / Battle	Outcome
326 B.C.	Battle of Hydaspas	Porus loses to Alexander
261 B.C.	Kalinga War	Asoka wins but adapts Buddhism
712 A.D.	Invasion of Sind	Mohammed-bin-Qasim invades from the west
1191 A.D.	First Battle of Tarain	Prithviraj Chauhan defeats Mohammed Ghori
1192 A.D.	Second Battle of Tarain	Ghori defeats Prithviraj Chauhan
1194 A.D.	Battle of Chhandwar	Ghori defeats Jaichandra of Kannauj
1526 A.D.	First Battle of Panipat	Babar defeats Ibrahim Lodhi
1527 A.D.	Battle of Khanua	Babar defeats Rana Sanga
1529 A.D.	Battle of Ghaghara	Babar defeats the Afghans
1539 A.D.	Battle of Chausa	Sher Shah Suri defeats Humayun
1540 A.D.	Battle of Kannauj (or Bilgram)	Sher Shah Suri defeats Humayun
1556 A.D.	Second Battle of Panipat	Bairam Khan (representing Akbar) defeats Hemu
1565 A.D.	Battle of Talikota (or Banihatti)	Vijaynagar empire (represented by Sadasiva) loses against an alliance formed by Ahmednagar, Bijapur, Golkonda and Bidar
1576 A.D.	Battle of Haldighati	Akbar defeats Maharana Pratap
1615 A.D.	Mewar submitted to the Mughals	Peace treaty signed between Jahangiri and Rana Amar Singh of Mewar.
1649 A.D.	Mughal-Safavid War	Mughals lose Kandahar to Persia
1658 A.D.	Battle of Dharmatt and Samugarh	Aurangzeb defeats Dara Shikoh
1665 A.D.	Seige of Purandar	Raja Jai Singh defeats Shivaji. Treaty of Purandar signed

1708 A.D.	Battle of Khed	Shahu defeats Tara Bai.
1737 A.D.	Battle of Bhopal	Baji Rao defeats Mohammed Shah.
1739 A.D.	Battle of Karnal	Nadir Shah defeats Mohammed Shah.
1757 A.D.	Battle of Plassey	Robert Cive defeats Siraj-ud-daula, the Nawab of Bengal
1760 A.D.	Battle of Wandiwash	English defeat the French
1761 A.D.	Third Battle of Panipat	Ahmed Shah Abdali defeats Marathas
1764 A.D.	Battle of Buxar	Hector Munro defeats combined armies of Nawab Mir Qasim of Bengal, Nawab Shuja-ud-daula of Awadh and Mughal emperor Shah Alam
1767-69 A.D.	First Anglo Mysore War	Hyder Ali defeats English forces
1766-69 A.D.	First Anglo Maratha War	British defeated
1770 A.D.	Battle of Udgir	Marathas defeat the Nizam
1780-84 A.D.	Second Anglo Mysore War	Hyder Ali dies. Treaty of Mangalore is signed
1789-92 A.D.	Third Anglo Mysore War	Tipu Sultan defeated. Treaty of Serirangapatnam is signed.
1799 A.D.	Fourth Anglo Mysore War	Tipu Sultan is defeated and killed
1803-06 A.D.	Second Anglo Maratha War	Marathas lose to the British
1817-19 A.D.	Third Anglo Maratha War	Marathas lose to the British again
1824-26 A.D.	First Anglo Burmese War	British win over Burmese.
1839-42	First Anglo Afghan War	British defeat Afghan ruler Dost Mohammad

A.D.		
1845-46 A.D.	First Anglo Sikh War	Sikhs lose to the British
1848-49 A.D.	Second Anglo Sikh War	Punjab annexed by the British
1852 A.D.	Second Anglo Burmese War	British win the war
1865 A.D.	Third Angio Burmese War	British win and Burma is annexed
1868-80 A.D.	Second Anglo Afghan War	Treaty of Gandamak is signed
1919-21 A.D.	Third Anglo Afghan War	Ended in an Artimice. Durand line established.